Staff & Board Members

AFCD Executive Board

Archie Matthews, President, Burlin Findley, First Vice President, Scott Wynn, Second Vice President, Wilbur Dean, Secretary/Treasurer, Not pictured is Linda Minton, Past President

The AFCD Executive Board is elected each year at their annual meeting and also serve on their local Soil and Water Conservation District board.

The Executive Board plays a vital role in conservation efforts by providing leadership to the 58 Soil and Water Conservation Districts of Florida. It is AFCD’s goal to bring together local Soil and Water Conservation Districts, as a single unit, through effective communication and leadership development. All this is done while helping to build the capacity and capabilities of the individual districts, expanding available resources, promoting conservation education and enhancing public awareness.

  • The State of Florida is divided into four conservation district areas, corresponding with the Natural Resources Conservation Service Area distinctions.
  • Each area is represented by a Vice President, Deputy Vice Presidents, and the Florida Conservation District Employees Association Representative.
  • The Vice Presidents and Deputy Vice Presidents are members of the AFCD Board, though not Executive Members.
  • The Vice President and Deputy Vice Presidents, with the support of the AFCD Executive Board, support and assist the efforts of the districts that fall within their jurisdiction.


Charlene Richburg, State Coordinator
Association of Florida Conservation Districts
P.O. Box 1763
Chiefland, Florida 32644
Office: 352-507-7065
Cell: 850-631-1130

Kaylee Durrance, Administrative Assistant
Office: 352-507-7065
Cell: 850-631-1017

Board Members


Archie Matthews, President, Alachua SWCD
Burlin Findley, 1st Vice President, Blackwater SWCD
Scott Wynn, 2nd Vice President, Hamilton SWCD
Wilbur Dean, Secretary/Treasurer, Levy SWCD
Linda Minton, Past President, St. Lucie SWCD


Area 1 Bill Howell, Leon SWCD
Area 2 Andy Jackson, Suwannee SWCD
Area 3 Mark Proctor, Hillsborough SWCD
Area 4 Fred Segal, Broward SWCD


1-B John Gilbert, Orange Hill SWCD
1-D Sonny Davis, Jackson SWCD

2-C Ray Horne, Bradford SWCD
2-D Richard Darby, Clay SWCD

3-A Rose Fitzpatrick, Lake SWCD
3-B Brett Upthagrove, Polk SWCD
3-C John O’Connor, Manatee River SWCD
3-D Wendy Lang, Charlotte SWCD

4-A Nano Corona, Okeechobee SWCD
4-B Eva Webb, Palm Beach SWCD
4-C Richard Leys, Broward SWCD